Going Barefoot (Almost)

Last night I decided to try something a little bit different. Instead of lacing up my Nikes and heading out for a run, I decided to slip on my Vibram 5 Fingers and finally give them a try. If you’re not familiar with the brand, they’re these little guys:

IMG_1141

Mine are the “Treksport” style. I got them for less than half price through an Active.com deal!

The “barefoot” style allows you to run with a more natural stride. Traditional running shoes, like my Nikes, create the standard heel-toe motion that most of us are used to while running. But take your shoes off for a second and try to run with that same motion. It’s awkward, right? You naturally land on the front of your foot rather than your heel. That is how we as humans are meant to run.

Now, I won’t lie to you. These definitely take some getting used to. I only ran a mile, and my calves and shins were crazy tight. A little Mineral Ice before bed did the trick, though, and my legs are pretty much back to normal this morning. You shouldn’t try to start full-force on them. I’m starting off at one 1-mile run per week, and building from there. Ultimately, though, I will be able to run in these daily, and the knee and ankle trouble I constantly have while running will subside. How stinkin’ cool is that?

What kind of shoes do you like to wear to work out? Have you ever tried barefoot-style running shoes? If so, what did you think of them?

6 thoughts on “Going Barefoot (Almost)

  1. Hehe vibrams and so snazzy (and funny) looking! I especially love the individual toe parts 😉 I would love to try these as I really like the concept of the idea and that we were made to walk/run barefoot so why not do it? However, still a bit scared of trying, as I normally need insoles (and I have VERY heavily padded running shoes) so I wonder if my feet really do need that extra support. Plus, I know it can take a while to transition and as am training for a 10k currently it’s probably not a good idea yet to make the switch…

    1. The best way to transition so as to not upset your current mileage is to start out running a mile in the barefoot shoes, change and do your regular run, then slowly increase your mileage in the new shoes (over the course of a few weeks or month). I know I have really flat feet and over the last year have gone with less and less padding…and my injuries have decreased!

  2. Definitely wait until after your race before you consider making the switch. That way you won’t throw off your training. I definitely recommend them, though. We’ve been taught that more padding is better, but in reality more padding can actually hurt you more. They’re not for everyone, though. Maybe try running around barefoot in a grassy area or on an indoor track before you make the decision to try them. That way you can see how the natural stride affects you before you go out and spend the money.

Leave a Reply

