Run, Run, Run, As Fast As You Can

Happy Friday All! Sorry for being MIA this week. Between work and being on puppy duty while my mom is away on business I haven’t had a second to even think about blogging.

I’m super excited for this weekend because I’ll be running my first race since my 5-miler in March. I’ll be running the Connection Fund Wicked Good 5k in New Haven, CT this Sunday. When I ran this course last year it was my first race ever, so it has a very special place in my heart. I’m really psyched to run the course again and see what I can do with it. I finished in 46:24 last year, and I’m certain that time will be cut down dramatically this year.

WickedGood

Photo Source

After this weekend, I have a couple of races that I’m extremely excited for. The first is the Hot COCO 5k on November 23rd (my birthday!), which takes place in Cheshire, CT. My birthday last year was a huge mess with a family emergency, so I really wanted to make this year special. What better way to do that than by doing something that I love?

I’ve also created a team on the race’s website, and I’m hoping to build a big team to run the race with me. I’m also doing fundraising for Abilities Without Boundaries, which is a nonprofit organization that provides individualized services for Connecticut residents with developmental disabilities. The greatest gift anyone could give me this year would be to join my team and/or make a donation. Our team name is “It’s My Party & I’ll Run If I Want To” (so clever, right ;-)), and our fundraising goal is $500. If you would like to participate in any way, you can find the team page here. It would really mean the world to me!

HotCOCO

Photo Source

After the Hot COCO 5k, I will be taking a little break from racing in order to train for the Nutmeg Half Marathon, which is in May of next year. I was initially going to choose an earlier race, but decided on this one for a couple of reasons. Most training plans that I’ve looked into are 8-12 weeks long, but I want to give myself plenty of margin for error. I also want to run the best race I possibly can, rather than just finishing, so I want a little more time to work on speed and endurance.

Overall, I’m thrilled with what’s to come. I love to run and I can’t wait to get moving towards more challenging races and courses.

Have a great weekend everyone!

❤ Chelsea

3 thoughts on “Run, Run, Run, As Fast As You Can

Leave a Reply

