No Makeup, No Problem

Yesterday’s Elf 4 Health challenge was to go a whole day without wearing makeup. From what I saw on the Facebook page, this was a difficult challenge for a lot of people. I generally wear a little mascara and lip gloss, but not much else, so it wasn’t too bad for me, but I still missed the little enhancements that my usual daily makeup gives.

I did find one thing especially interesting, though. I posted a photo of my makeup-free self on Facebook, just to see what the results would be.

2013-12-04 09.28.51

Me in all my early AM, no-makeup glory!

I didn’t personally think there was anything terribly special about the photo. It’s just a normal, run of the mill selfie. I also thought I looked a little bit tired, since the photo was taken before I’d had my life elixir (read: giant cup of coffee) for the day.

The photo turned out to be my most popular post so far this week. It raked in 14 “likes”, and a couple of very nice comments. Not a huge turnout, but enough to make a statement. I didn’t need a full face of makeup (or any makeup for that matter) for people to think this was a good photo. Makeup is a lot of fun, and I do enjoy wearing it most days, but I learned that I don’t need it to feel good about myself. My appearance doesn’t define who I am, and I don’t need to alter my appearance to be loved. If I want to wear makeup (and I usually do), that’s my choice and I do it for my own enjoyment. If not, that’s fine too. Do whatever makes you happy and be yourself, and your inner beauty will shine through šŸ™‚

Do you usually like to wear makeup, or do you prefer a more natural look? Have you ever tried a makeup-free day?

Happy Almost-Friday All!

ā¤ Chelsea

Leave a Reply

