Isa’s Baked Garlic-Curry Fries

Those of you who follow me on Facebook probably saw this photo that I posted yesterday. I made the official switch to vegan after the first of the year, and so far I love it! I love the way that I feel after a meal, and I especially love all of the fun I’ve been having in the kitchen. I have a fair amount of experience with vegetarian cooking, but vegan cooking is a whole different ballgame (in a very good way), and I’m learning so much!

2014-01-08 14.59.11

Once I could contain my excitement, I sat down and paged through both cookbooks in search of a fun recipe to prepare. In the “Handheld” section of Isa Does It, I found the recipe for Baked Garlic-Curry Fries, and my search was over!

2014-01-08 16.57.54

Prepare yourself for simple culinary awesomeness, because here we go!

Ingredients:

1.5 lbs russet potatoes, sliced (I used mini potatoes)

2 tbsp mild curry powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp finely minced garlic (I used garlic powder)

1 tbsp olive oil, plus more to drizzle

Directions:

1. Slice the potatoes into 1/4 inch slices. I used mini potatoes, so this was a bit of a challenge, but I think I managed alright! While slicing your potatoes, pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees, and put a pot of water on the stove to boil.

2014-01-08 16.48.43

2. Place the potatoes in the boiling water and boil for 3 minutes. Make sure to take them out promptly so that they don’t get soggy! Meanwhile, set up a large bowl of ice water.

2014-01-08 17.07.32

3.  Drain the potatoes and place promptly into the ice water until completely cooled.

2014-01-08 17.10.45

4. Then place them on a plate with paper towels. Pat out excess moisture with additional paper towels.

2014-01-08 17.14.32

5. Mix together the spices and add the olive oil in a bowl.

2014-01-08 17.11.10

2014-01-08 17.18.19

6. Add the potatoes and coat with the spice mixture. The easiest way to do this is to use your hands. Isa warns that your hands will smell like curry for a few days, but I know a simple little trick to combat this. Simply rub your hands on the walls of your sink and the smell will go right away!

2014-01-08 17.20.47

2014-01-08 17.20.40

7. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray and add the potatoes in a single layer (or as close as you can get if you’re using mini potatoes!). Drizzle with a little more olive oil and place in the oven. Bake for 8-12 minutes on each side (mine took about 10).

2014-01-08 17.25.36

8. Let them cook slightly and serve hot. I served mine as part of a salad. I used romaine and iceberg lettuce. I know, I know. Iceberg lettuce is all water, but the flavor is mild, which offsets the strong flavors in the potatoes. I also added green olives, grape tomatoes, and some tofu chunks for protein. There may or may not have been a glass of red wine involved as well…

2014-01-08 18.11.51

Yummy!

2014-01-08 17.01.24

Have you guys tried this wine? Simply delicious! More info here.

What about you guys? Have you tried vegan cooking before? What are some of your favorite recipes? Have you tried blended wine before?

Recipe credit: Isa Does It, Isa Chandra Moskowitz, Page 87

Happy Almost Friday!

❤ Chelsea

2 thoughts on “Isa’s Baked Garlic-Curry Fries

  1. as you already know, I am in absolute LOVE with this cookbook! I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but I will now! I’ve been writing the date on each page as I cook something and some notes (like does it need more salt, to be cooked a little longer) so that next time when I go to make it, it’ll come out perfect!

Leave a Reply

